Copyright © 2015 Francesca Faith Martin

Thank you Saint Anthony: for my lost and now found

“Saint Anthony, Saint Anthony, please come around: Something is lost and needs to be found!!”

– Prayer to St. Anthony of Padua

Dear sister,

Getting to know your saints

Get to know the saints that are sent to help you, Little Sister. One of these for me has been St. Anthony. I am constantly losing things. I don’t know what I would do without St. Anthony I wanted to take time to thank St. Anthony for all his help throughout the years. He has, and more significantly, helped me find my way in many situations.

Saint Anthony of Padua Letters from your sister

Lost

Starting out in my career, I was feeling low and uncertain with two years post college, a dozen interviews, and no permanent teaching position in sight. I was fortunate to get to know many of the students of one high school. St. Anthony used one student in particular to speak to me.

She was a student labeled with asperger’s, among other things. As she put, “I have a little bit of everything.” Cheerful girl. At times a handful to both her teachers and peers alike, but in the same token there was a fondness toward her relationship with everyone. Even those most irritated by her couldn’t help but smile.

One endearing and impish quality was that she would take things that were not hers and re-gift them to other people. One day she gave me a few colorful paper clips that I knew were from another teacher’s desk. She thought they were pretty, and told me so. She gave them to me saying she wanted me to have them as a gift from her. Endearing. Impish, but very sweet. That was this student.

A few days after receiving paper clips, I had been feeling uncertain. “Am I where I am suppose to be? Should I try a different profession?” I hadn’t been getting interviews at the time and felt stuck.

Found

My endearing little imp found me in the hallway to give me another present. I was expecting paper clips. To my surprise, it was a St. Anthony medal. She told me this is St. Anthony and she wanted me to have it. I thanked her. I was moved in awe and felt a great peace. I truly was where I was suppose to be – I know that for certain with hindsight now. I had received a gentle and beautiful reminder from St. Anthony.

My lost and now found items

This is one instance of many throughout my life where St. Anthony makes his presence known to me. He helps me find articles daily – phone, car keys, clothes, shoes, destinations and landmarks while driving, people, information, my glasses. He also finds me answers to questions.

Little things with great love

I speak simply to him as if we are personal friends and speak with him daily. I make sure to express my gratitude toward him every time he helps me. I know he hears me because he is so quick to help me. I am truly grateful for his love and intercession in the little trials of my life – and the bigger ones. He is one of my favorite saints and is worth reading about. (More about St. Anthony of Padua here and here).

Talk to St. Anthony, Little Sister. He loves to share God’s graces to him with you.

Lost and now found,

Your sister

Unfailing Prayer to Saint Anthony

Blessed be God in His Angels and in His Saints.

O Holy St. Anthony, gentlest of Saints, your love for God and Charity for His creatures made you worthy, when on earth, to possess miraculous powers. Miracles waited on your word, which you were ever ready to speak for those in trouble or anxiety. Encouraged by this thought, I implore of you to obtain for me (request). The answer to my prayer may require a miracle. Even so, you are the saint of Miracles.

O gentle and loving St. Anthony, whose heart was ever full of human sympathy, whisper my petition into the ears of the Sweet Infant Jesus, who loved to be folded in your arms, and the gratitude of my heart will ever be yours.

Amen. (Say 13 Our Fathers, Hail Marys, and Glorias)

found originally hereCopyright © 2015 Francesca Faith Martin

Leave a Reply

