Spiritual Communion: Abundant graces when you can’t get to Mass

 Dear Faithful,

I have recently become aware of prayers for Spiritual Communion. It’s a beautiful way to receive Jesus when you can’t make mass.

Eucharistic Miracles and Eucharistic Phenomena in the Lives of Saints (Joan Carroll Cruz) was a gift from my husband. Miracles throughout time have revealed his real presence in the blessed sacrament. These miracles seemed to be unknown yet are such tangible explanations of this truth. Jesus comes to us, flesh and blood. He raises us to heaven to be with Him and to renew our souls.

A small section in the back describing the benefits of making a spiritual communion turned out to be the most influential for me. Spiritual communion allows us to receive Jesus when we are not able to and long for him in our soul. It is the best we can do if we can not get to mass. This prayer said with a humble and heart that longs for Jesus will not go unanswered. It has brought peace and grace to the lives of the saints and will do the same for you.

Spiritual Communion Title

There are so many times I would love to go to mass but can’t make it. Receiving Jesus in a quiet moment of the day has become part of my daily routine.

An act of Spiritual Communion brings all of heaven into your heart to strengthen you and draw you closer to Our Lord. When you can not receive the sacrament, it is a way to unite yourself to Our Lord and His grace.

The prayer cited in the book is from St. Francis:

My Jesus, I believe that you are present in the most Blessed Sacrament. I love You above all things and I desire to receive You into my soul. Since I cannot now receive You sacramentally, come at least spiritually into my heart. I embrace You as if You have already come, and unite myself wholly to You. Never permit me to be separated from You. Amen.

I further gained a greater understanding of the Eucharist by listening to light house media’s The Holy Eucharist.

As the lecture reminded me: Jesus comes to us with His hands full of graces and many are not even present to him when they have received.

It made me think of how often I have been distracted, as many of us are. Imagine opening the door for someone with a hand full of gifts for you and not saying a word to them. How much pain must he feel, for these are those who are closest supposedly to Him.

It also reminded me of a very important and powerful reality- all of heaven including loved ones are present, all of eternity is present within us. How comforting to know all my relatives and saints I pray to often are with me for a short moment every time I receive communion. How even more assuring to receive Jesus and be connected to heaven even more often with simple heartfelt acts of Spiritual Communion!

I pray this prayer will bring great peace and blessings into your daily life.

Yours in Christ,

Fran

Resources to gain greater understanding of Jesus’ presence in the Blessed Sacrament:

TraditionalCatholicTeaching.com 

This website provides and explanation and other example prayers from saints. Click on the home page for other topics. Lists other saints who have spoken on this practice, included Saint John Paul II and St. Teresa of Avila.

Eucharistic Miracles and Eucharistic Phenomena in the Lives of Saints (Joan Carroll Cruz)

This book provides a number of them in one volume and I highly recommend it for learning more of about the happenings around the sacrament. Interesting and amazing- check the reviews on goodreads!

The Holy Eucharist (FR. WILLIAM CASEY C.P.M., Lighthouse Media)

Gives an excellent explanation of the Eucharist its abundant graces.

Prayer of Spiritual Communion

2 thoughts on “Spiritual Communion: Abundant graces when you can’t get to Mass

Leave a Reply

